Board of Directors


Amy Alvord
The Ivymount School & Programs

Vice President

Frank Mills
The Chelsea School


Karen Duncan
The Lab School


Andrew Ross
The Children’s Guild


(Immediate Past President)
Piper Phillips Caswell
PHILLIPS Programs for Children & Families


Andrea Adler
Former CEO of Foundations School


Gina James
The Foundation Schools


Tania DuBeau
Pathways School


Joette James
Licensed Psychologist/Board-Certified Clinical Neuropsychologist

DCASE Executive Director

Molly L. Whalen

Bylaws in Brief


  • Both nonpublic and public charter schools eligible for voting membership
  • Members must sign Statement of Ethical Practices
  • Board of Directors will approve applications for membership
  • Annual dues are based on number of total students per school/program (see membership page)
  • Affiliate (non-voting) members may be approved by Board.  For further information about Affiliate Membership, please email DCASE

Meetings of Members

  • Schedule set at end of one school year for next year school year 2018-19 DCASE meeting calendar
  • Minimum of three membership meetings per year
  • Members elect 12-member Board of Directors

Board of Directors

  • Comprised of representatives from member organizations and at-large directors
  • At-large Directors to come from broader special education and disability community
  • Purpose of At-large Directors’ participation is to bring diverse perspectives and provide validation of association goals
  • Officers: President, Vice President Secretary and Treasurer
  • Officers elected by Board from among members of the Board
  • Standing Committee chairs are part of Executive Committee


  • Standing Committees are Finance and Nominations
  • Committees may have other representatives who are not on the Board, and even individuals not affiliated with members if the President chooses
  • President establishes Special Committees as needed